Manchester United Wins the Emirates FA Cup

man utd fa cup 2016 winners

Manchester United won its 12th FA cup title to tie with Arsenal for highest number of cup wins, after defeating Crystal Palace 2-1 in extra time. Despite Palace’s push for a first major title in their 100-year history, they were denied again like it happened in 1990 when both teams met.

After being outplayed for most of the match, Joel Ward played in a hopeful cross and somehow Jason Puncheon was kept onside, ran into the ball’s path and hit it through the hands of a confused De Gea.

Crystal Palace were one goal up in the 79th minute.


manchester united

And this happened.

In the 81st minute, Rooney took it upon himself to make a change. He ran across the final third of the pitch with the ball, pulled in a cross. Maroune Fellaini controlled the ball with his chest into Juan Mata’s left foot. The Spaniard squeezed the ball into the net off Joel Ward’s leg.

Manchester United were level.

manchester united

And this happened.

The match went into extra time.

Manchester United got reduced to 10 men after Chris Smalling made a clumsy challenge to earn a second yellow and a sending off.

Antonio Valencia moved the ball on the right side of Crystal Palace’s box and crossed a low ball into the midst of opposing defenders. Damien Delaney’s clearance was struck by Jesse Lingard into the back of the end.

Congratulations Manchester United.

Written by FootyLogue

FootyLogue is an online football magazine focused on providing information beyond the news through insightful analysis, alternative perspective and opinion, and a platform for conversations between lovers of the game.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *